Disabling MySQL root password reset

mnovakou

Hi MySQL gurus,

I have what seems to be a bit of a unique requirement to meet.  Unfortunately I can't seem to find anything on the net covering this issue, so it's either probably rare, or my webfoo is just weak.  In any case, what I need to do is this:  I need to DISABLE the ability to reset the root password on a MySQL 5.0 database in WinXP via the script methodology documented here:

http://dev.mysql.com/doc/refman/5.0/en/resetting-permissions.html

I've read countless posts on what to do when you forget your password, and I've done it myself as a test.  Unfortunately, I can't think of a way to make it impossible to do, if you have access to the host computer. (As a sidenote, I'm a total newbie to this sort of DB development-only worked with Access before, and that won't work for this project).

In any case, in case the context will help, here's what I need:

-DB supporting a proprietary application running locally (probably on a laptop).

-DB must be unaccessible at ALL TIMES unless the application is currently running and has authenticated the user.

Development has led us to think about using MySQL, but if I can't find a way to do the above, I cannot justify MySQL as a secure solution for the system, as anyone that can google "reset mysql root password" can go on a given platform with the application and give themselves root access.  I guess telling the user to not be a dumbass and lock their laptop when they're not using it isn't good enough.

Ideas I had, but didn't have the technical expertise to try (easily):

- Delete the root account - can it be done?  Would you be able to then reset the password of other accounts using the script-based reset mechanism?  This might be sufficient, since an attacker would not reasonably be able to guess the username for any user other than root.