[SOLVED] count items in each category and subcategory

spidermonster

ok, ive been working on this like, forever.. actually about a month, to about a month in a half...

anyhow... Ive been to codewalkers, and asked extensively, and they have lost me as a member. Ive been coding for about 4 years, and gone to work for about 1,,, since ive gotten back,, and tried to learn php5,, ive been racking my head against the wall. ok,, what I want, seams extremely simple. I want to list, all my main categories on my page, with counting every item that has been uploaded... a classifieds script. the count on the main page, with the main categories will have the total of all the items in all of its subcategories.

example:

Category1 (4)

Category2 (0)

Category3 (2)

Now, I have sube categories for each one, but when I try to add them to the main categories, and not show them, its kinda like it only pics out one subcategory, and ads the items in that one,,, (my theory)

now, im not worried about the subcategories, because I dont need to add them to the main category items.

below is the code I have for categories and subcategories to try and get the count of items in the main category and in its subcategories..

right now, for what I have, 1 item in each category and 3 items all together in subcategories... the main category is suppose to show 3 items, and when click that main category it shows a list with one item, and 2 subcategories have an item in both of them...

what am i doing wrong, and is there a way to use less queries for this, I thought of JOIN, but it messes up my count for numrows...

php:

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

$query_main_cat = "SELECT * FROM class_categories WHERE sub='0' ORDER BY cat";

$result_main_cat = mysql_query($query_main_cat);

$numrows_main_cat = mysql_num_rows($result_main_cat);

while($main_cat = mysql_fetch_array($result_main_cat)){

$main_cat_id = $main_cat['id'];