[SOLVED] Can't even get started!

Hello experts,

I am a total newbie, so I'm hoping for an explanation in very layman terms. I have just downloaded the latest version of Apache and PHP, which I'm running on Windows XP. I can't get apache properly configured with PHP. I've done some research first and have found from several postings that this is a common problem --apparently, with no easy solution. In short, I get the following error message when I try to load php5 as a module: "Cannot load C:/php/php5apache2.dll into server. The specified module cannot be found.

I have followed the instructions in both my PHP 5 textbook and what has been posted at the PHP site and in responses to the letter. Namely, in the HTTPD conference file I put: LoadModule php5_module "c:/php/php5apache2.dll" Also I added the following: AddType application/x-httpd-php.php

Per my textbook's instruction, I renamed php.ini-dist to php.ini and moved it to C:\windows

Per the book, I also moved php5ts.dll to C:\windows\system. Finally, per one of the posts I even added PHPIniDir "C:/windows." Nothing seems to work.

If I put in html in my text editor, it appears in my browser; however, php does not. One last point, I had a slightly older version of Apache 2.something and updated to a newer version, supposedly with fewer bugs. The older version would simply have all php codes directed to a blank Dreamweaver page! With this newer version, apache is stops running when I add the line LoadModule php5, etc.

Should I just delete both apache and php5 and download one of the preconfigured php-apache-my SQL, etc. programs. And which one? There are three options: an .exe file, an installer, and a zip file? Or should I go with PHP 4? And if so, what's the difference? This problem has been driving me, and many other beginners crazy, so please help.

Thanks in advance, phplearner07

I've never done it the system folder way, but this way has always worked for me with php5 and apache 2.x