accessing submited form values, error. help!!

jaboc

I keep getting this error  PHP Notice: Undefined index: search in simpleformdata2.php on line 12

line 12 is the line where the search variable is declared. I am still learning php and this is code from a text book. coppied line for line.

<?php

$search = $_GET["search"];

$self=$_SERVER['PHP_SELF'];

if ($search != NULL )

{

('

<form action="'.$_SERVER["PHP_SELF"].'" method="GET">

<label>Search: <input type="text" name="search" />

</label>

<input type="submit" value="Go!" />

</form>

');

}

?>

What is this chunk of code?

<?php
('
</label>
</form>
');
?>

It looks like you're missing an "echo"

<?php
echo '<form action="'.$_SERVER["PHP_SELF"].'" method="GET">
</label>
</form>';
?>

Ken

hmm I don't think this is gonna work.

the moddified code you gave me didnt include the if statement which is used to check if there is data in the text field.

I tried this

<?php

echo '$search = $_GET["search"]';

if ($search != NULL )

{

('

</label>

</form>

');

}

?>

got this error

$search = $_GET["search"] PHP Notice: Undefined variable: search in simpleformdata2.php on line 14

when I tried this

<?php

echo '$search = $_GET["search"];

if ($search != NULL )

{

('

</label>

</form>

');

}'

?>

this error came up 

PHP Parse error: parse error, unexpected T_STRING, expecting ',' or ';' in simpleformdata2.php on line 13

I am confused because I read the guidelines for posting and it said that this is a forum for people learning php yet I ask for help and I am told that I should go read tutorials before I post. also in the guidlines it says people who are new to php should post in the php newbie forum which I couldnt find.

The php newbie forum hasn't existed on this site in over a year. The guidelines need to be changed.

I just posted one piece of your code that I felt was in error. Now I will post your entire code with the fixes that should make it work (maybe) :)

<?php
<?php