problems with inserting / updating arrays in mysql

endswithaW

whew.  i've honestly been staring at this code for a week trying to search boards and use tutorials.  here's the lowdown:

i'm trying to insert and update arrays from a form in mysql.  currently the values are seperated by a pipe in the form.  my code to pull the | seperated values from the database is working correctly, but i cannot get the values from the form to INSERT or UPDATE into the database. 

i've tried implode and serialize without any luck.

in hopes of carrying on with my life, i was hoping someone could point me to a tutorial or give me the code i should be working with in my insert / update function.  i'm no PHP expert, but i can hang.  let me know if you need any more information to troubleshoot my information.  as always, thanks!

the column name is "area", and i have the form looking like this:

<select multiple name="area[]">

<option value="Active Directory|">Active Directory</option>

<option value="ActivIdentity -Secure Single Sign-on|">ActivIdentity -Secure Single Sign-on</option>

<option value="Adobe Acrobat Reader|">Adobe Acrobat Reader</option>

<option value="Adobe Audition|">Adobe Audition</option>

<option value="Adobe Illustrator|">Adobe Illustrator</option>

<option value="Adobe Photoshop|">Adobe Photoshop</option>

</select>

and my insert statement is currently attempting to insert the | seperated values normally:

$area = $_POST['area'];

UPDATE tablename SET area='$area' WHERE id='$id';

sounds like to me you need to implode your values separated by |

$areaimplode = implode(' | ', $area);

remove the | from your form and implode the array before you post into the database.

<option value="Active Directory">Active Directory</option>

to retrieve the data, just explode the data into an array.

hm.  an error.  thanks for your quick reply.  being at my desk all day allows me to stalk.  :-)