[SOLVED] how to keep text in text boxes after form is rewritten

flunn

I'm a beginner with php. I'm trying to learn it so I can make interactive quizzes and tutorials for my English as a Second Language site.

I'm trying to make a form that does the following:

(1) the user answers a question by typing in a text box

(2) a response is then written below the form, saying whether the answer is right or wrong and, perhaps making a comment of some kind

(3) the user's answer remains visible in the original text box

I've managed to write some code that does the first two things, but despite many attempts and much searching for code examples, I've failed to find a way of getting the answer to reappear in the text box when the page is rewritten.

This is my code:

<body>

<p> Please write your name in the box</p>

<form action= "<?php echo $PHP_SELF;?>" method="post" />

<input type=text name=name value="">

<input type=submit>

</form>

<?php

$name=$_POST['name'];

if (!empty($name)){

echo "thank you ";

echo $name;

}

?>

</body>

As I said, I want the user's name to reappear in the form as well as appearing in the sentence below the form.

Any advice will be much appreciated.

regards to all from

flunn

hi, from what i gather you can:

make the value of the input field name=$name i.e.

<body>

<input type=text name=name value="<? echo "$name"; ?>">

<input type=submit>

</form>

You have to use the value in the $_POST array in your form. I usually create a function to do this, since most forms have more than one field:

<?php
function form_value($fld,$txtarea=false) {
  if (!isset($_POST[$fld])) return ('');
  $retval = htmlentities(trim(stripslashes($_POST[$fld])),ENT_QUOTES);
  if (!$txtarea) return(' value="' . $retval . '"');
  else return($retval);
}
?>
<body>
<input type="text" name="name" <?php form_value('name') ?>>
<input type="submit" name="submit">
</form>
<?php
if (isset($_POST['name']))
    echo "thank you " . stripslashes($_POST['name']);
?>
</body>