PHP 101

msf004

Hello,

I am a developer of 20+ years with C, Shell Scripts, CGI, Java, JSP, ASP, etc. just not PHP. 

I recently had a need to start using PHP and I quickly ran into a problem to which I have not found an answer through searches.  It seems like a strange problem, or maybe just my misunderstanding of the language.  Either way, I am interested in finding an answer.  Here is the problem.

I have three files as shown below:

FileA.php

-----------

<html>

<head></head>

<body>

<?php

echo "hello world";

?>

</body>

</html>

FileB.php

-----------

<html>

<head></head>

<body>

<?= "hello world" ?>

FileC.php

-----------

<?php

echo "hello world";

?>

I put these files into the same directory under Apache (htttpd).  Then from an Internet browser I browse to the files, File C shows the expected output of "Hello World" whereas File A & B show a blank page.  Further, if I view the source of File A or B from the Internet browser, the source shows the PHP code; exactly as shown above.  I.e.: the SOURCE for File A when viewed from a web browser is:

<html>

<head></head>

<body>

<?php

echo "hello world";

?>

</body>

</html>

Basically, using the formats above, Files A & B, seemingly are not being processed by the PHP Interpreter at all; however, the text is also not going to the browser - it just shows up in the source of the HTML.

So, my question is, Why?

I am running PHP 4.3.2-40 on Red Hat ES3 with Apache HTTPD 2.0.46.  I have browser tested with Mac OS X Safari, MAC OS X Camino, Windows FireFox, Windows IE.

Any thoughts, suggestions, or assistance would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

-Marc

<?="hello world"?> ... will fail unless short tags are enable in php. Avoid this construction.