A few design questions

Koobazaur

Greetings,

I have just registered here and this is my first post, so here goes!

I am working on an online content subscription and access method using PHP and MySQL. I have been learning both recently and while I have a decent grasp of the concepts (especially considering I have been programming in C++ for several years now, which I found very similar to PHP), I know little about good coding practices in those areas so I figured I'd ask for some advice instead of just blindly coding away.

Basically I will have several online "programs" a registered user can access, where each one would track the users' progress in it. To give you an idea what those are, they would be something like the online personality Test/Quizzes but more verbose (and maybe with a greater level of interactivity). Just as a set up I would need 2 databases:

1. A user database

2. A database containing the list of all the programs and associated data

Now I am wondering how to go about tracking the progress in each program. I was thinking about setting up a new database for each program (which there might be 10-20) which stores the users tha used it and their progress in it. Or would it be a better idea to have one database which would store the Username, Program ID and progress (hence you would have multiple entries of the same user, but different program IDs)? This may not be the best way though considering that each program may track progress differently (one may store only numbers, while another may store strings).

On a related on, how do online Forums go about storing the data (which is somewhat of a similar issue) ? Do they create a new database for each thread containing the posts in it, or do they just have two massive Thread and Posts databases and just figure out which posts go with what thread by an ID and arrange them by the date posted (like SELECT * FROM posts WHERE threadID = something) ?