New to PHP. Need help with structure on existing site

RDavis

Hi all, I'm new to board so please be gentle.

I'm in the process of building a new site for a company however I still need to work on their existing site. The current site uses PHP, along with other things, and I have had no experience with it.

When I view source on the site through a browser I can clearly see the portion I need to edit (it's within a table tag). Now, when I download the index.php file from the ftp and load it in Dreamweaver for example I get a completely different code listing which does not include the section I need.

To be more specific, there is an image on the site that links to <root/catalog/index.php?cPath=80>. What I need to do is change the image that this link location displays along with changing the page that the link takes you to (possibly as simple as cPath= some other number). When I view source I can see the simple <a href> piece but it is nowhere in the PHP file. I have no concept of the structure that PHP uses and the site I have inherited has a directory structure much more complex than I am used to.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks,

R. Davis

That sounds like some type of shopping cart possibly?  If so, then normally you'd be able to manage everything via some type of control panel.

Do you know anything of the software that is being used?  Homegrown, or some commericial application?

Thank you for your help.

Yes, it is an e-comm/shopping cart system. It's called OScommerce. There is a control panel however it does not control this sort of material. Part of the reason I was hired was because the company had to pay someone $75 every time a thing like this had to be done "to the back end" according to the people they contacted.