[SOLVED] Is it possible to reorder data without running another query?

matthewst

I have a page that looks like an excel spread sheet. I need to be able to sort this page by different columns. I could make the coulmn headers links to different pages where the query is "ordered by" the appropriate column. The problem is the data is quit large and it takes a while to load.

$Cust_Tables = mysql_query("Select table_id, set_no, dist_id, contact_fname, contact_lname, rest_name, rest_city, rest_state_pr FROM abc_tables where status_2<'6' order by rest_name", $db_link);
	$tables = mysql_num_rows($Cust_Tables);

Has anyone done this?

I don't think it's possible.

What you could do however, is to make the section of the page where the table is, refresh using AJAX, so that only the table would refresh instead of having the whole page refreshed.

I'm not too good with Javascript so you'll have to ask someone else on this.

Make each heading and link and format it like this:

index.php?sort=date

$defualt = "user";

$sort = $_GET["sort"]

if (!empty($sort)) {

SELECT * FROM table ORDER BY $sort

} else {

SELECT * FROM table ORDER BY $default

}

That will only sort one direction though. IF you want it to switch between ASC and DESC, you'll have to add another variable in the URL and then test to see how you're sorting ATM and change the links accordingly.

Hope this helps.

I don't think it's possible.

What you could do however, is to make the section of the page where the table is, refresh using AJAX, so that only the table would refresh instead of having the whole page refreshed.

I'm not too good with Javascript so you'll have to ask someone else on this.

It is very possible with PHP. Inefficient but possible.

The basic gist is you have all that data in an array. You create your own function to run on that array and sort it using http://us2.php.net/array_walk

Not too hard, and I am not sure if it will run fast or not, should be faster than javascript at anyrate.