[SOLVED] Diagram of database, normalized?

hostfreak

I have attached a diagram of a database I am working on. I am looking for opinions on whether or not it is normalized and if not suggestions to make it so. Suggestions about the overall design are welcome too. I know the "Parts; Part_Name, Part_#" could have there own table however, those will be user inputed (by the Mechanic) at all times. I should also note, this is my first time of actually trying to follow normalization on a database, so please forgive any newb mistakes. Thanks in advance.

[attachment deleted by admin]

The counter is to generate the Key_ID. The count_num IS the Key_ID. I do this so I can insert a unique ID it into all relative tables upon adding. I couldn't figure out a way (if there is one) to add the "work_orders_main" ID into the other tables upon submission, being as the ID wouldn't have been generated yet as they are being submitted at the same time.

I created the "overall_expenses" to hold a total of all the relative total rows for a Work Order in "work_order_expenses". That way they can be displayed on a page that will only show the Overall Totals for a specific Work Order. Of course, I guess the rows could be pulled and totaled live, but this way IMO will save a little code work.

The counter is to generate the Key_ID. The count_num IS the Key_ID. I do this so I can insert a unique ID it into all relative tables upon adding. I couldn't figure out a way (if there is one) to add the "work_orders_main" ID into the other tables upon submission, being as the ID wouldn't have been generated yet as they are being submitted at the same time.

I don't know what you mean by "not being generated yet"... you can use last_insert_id() once you're made the primary id.