Getting Monthly totals

dcp

I'm a bit new to this, and I apologize in advance for my thickheadedness. I hope someone can help me with a suggestion.

I have two tables: programs and events. All events are categorized as a kind of program (and include a program id). I'm trying to get the monthly total for the number of participants in all events. All events have a month, year, and day field.

I start by getting the totals this way:

$query ="SELECT event_month, sum(number) as total_events FROM events WHERE year = '".$year."' AND program_id = '".$_GET['id']."' GROUP BY event_month ";

Then I get the result of the query and loop through the rows:

$result = mysql_query($query)

echo "<table>\n<tr>\n";
while ($row = mysql_fetch_array($result)) {
$month = $year."-".$row['month']."-01";
$month_name = date('M', strtotime($month));
	echo "<td><div>".$month."</div>";
	echo "<div>".$row['total_events']."</div></td>";
	}
echo "</tr></table>\n\n\n"; 

This gets me close to what I want, which is a table with two rows, the name of the month on top and the total attendance for that month below. But I'd really like every month displayed--not just those for which there is data. So my output would be a table with 12 cells, Jan through Dec, and below each the total for that month, if it exists.

I imagine I ought to be using a for loop, but don't know where to begin. Any help would be appreciated. 

dcp

I am not sure this is the best way to do this but you can do a join query on a table with all the month names.

Month Table

monthNum (Primary)

monthName

Query would look like:

$query ="SELECT monthName, sum(number) as total_events FROM events right outer joind monthTable on (monthTable.monthNum = total_events.event_month WHERE year = '".$year."' AND program_id = '".$_GET['id']."' GROUP BY monthName";

The right outer join make it show all the rows in the month table.

Hope this helps...

"You cannot escape the responsibility of tomorrow by evading it today." Abraham Lincoln