Connection Fails After I Refresh

HomeStar

I had someone code my site and they are no longer around. So I'm a php/mySQL newbie. That being said I'm trying to fix a problem I've been having for over a week.

It's a real estate website and on the main page it shows "feature properties" that it gets from the database. If i click around and refresh the page a few times. I loss the connection to the database and that page shows nothing.

I tried contacting me Web Host and they have increased the max_user connections to 35. That still doesn't solve the problem.

Can anyone help?

The website is loftyfinds.com you will see properties on the front page. When the connect is lost you will get an error message that says: "Currently no Front page Properties"

The connect file has the following code:

define('DB_SERVER', 'localhost'); 
  define('DB_SERVER_USERNAME', '********');
  define('DB_SERVER_PASSWORD', '********');
  define('DB_DATABASE', '*********');
  define('USE_PCONNECT', 'false'); 

include 'start.php'; 

It is saying no properties right off the bat.

Me personally I like to use a user defined function to make my db connections and have never had a problem with this kind of error.

function connectdb()
{
mysql_connect('HOST', 'USERNAME', 'PASSWORD');
mysql_select_db('DATABASE') or die('Unable to select database!');
}

Just call this function before you run a query and you should be good to go.

I assume that the db connection is made before every query? I finally got the error, but I am beginning to think that it is an issue with the database provider rather than your script.

I may be wrong, but if the connection works once, it should work every time. There really should not be anything in the scripting that could make this happen. As long as your making a DB connection before each query or at least per page that has queries on it, then it should work every time.

you might add a mysql_error() in there below one of your queries to see what the error is.

Nate