[SOLVED] Send data to db and retrieve

doc1355

Hi,

I'm new to php and I'm trying to work on a form with php and Mysql but I have a question.

After a visitors submits the form, the data is saved in database table in a new row and a unique ID will be given to that row.

I am trying to work with the data after it has been created by retrieving the ID. I want to send the ID to payment page, and after the payment is complete, change one field in that row to show that the payment is done). I don't know how can I get the ID for that record back from the database so I pass it on to next script.

Thanks for help.

Well, first off you select the ID from the database

<?php
   $query = mysql_query("SELECT ID FROM table WHERE condition")or die(mysql_error());
   $row = mysql_fetch_assoc($query);
?>

To pass it on, you can use either a session, cookie, or hidden form input. If you have a submit button on that page, I would recommend the hidden form input...if not, I would use a session.

Solution #1 - Hidden form Input

<input type='hidden' name='id' value='<?php echo $row['id']; ?>'>

Solution #2 - Session

<?php
   $_SESSION['id'] = $row['id'];
?>

thanks pocobueno1388 for your reply.

My problem is not passing the data. My question is how can I retrieve the id related to that order back. The ID is created by MySQL and it is auto_increment. I want to retrieve the id related to the the same form data that has been inserted into the database.

I hope you got my point.

Thanks

common question and your solution is

mysql_insert_id();

Retrieves last inserted ID of a query on that page, set it to a variable and email to the user/store it somewhere do what ever you want with it.

http://us.php.net/manual/en/function.mysql-insert-id.php

What if another form submits just before the first one complete? Will that make any confusion?