Complete Noob Needs help!!!

PandaFi

Hi, I don't know the first thing about coding, and need some help. I need to design a page in php that would be a simple form where the user inputs their email address into a box, with a submit button.

After submitting the email address however, I need a few things to happen:

1. Process the form data

2. Validate the E-mail address

3. Check to see if the email address is already been inputted

4. If not then continue

5. I then need to send a code from my "code table" to their email address automatically.

This is for an online psychology experiment with two conditions (two sets of codes) and I need to alternate between these conditions when codes are sent out. Can anyone help. I had someone from uni design the rest of the site for me, but now they won't help me do this bit. How would I go about doing this sort of thing? Thanks

try looking in the tutorials section on this site. They've got some great tutorials on just about everything to get you started. What you're wanting to do sounds quite simple so look up some php email scripts and come back with what you've got!

Then we can help you work on it :)

Also try looking on php.net

a comment form would work in pretty much the same way. All you really need is the script which sends the email. The form is just a simple html form.

here's an example form for you:

<form action="sendmail.php" method="post">
<input type="text" maxlength="255" name="email" value="" />
<input type="submit" name="submit" value="send" />
</form>

If you don't know html I'll quickly explain what that does.

<form action="sendmail.php" method="post">
// this tells the server that the next part is a form.
The action is generally the page the form is sent to to verify the details, send email etc.
the method should usually be left as post. //

<input type="text" maxlength="255" name="email" value="" />
// this creates the input field for users to add their email address.