[SOLVED] Query Returns Different Results via PHP

JackR

I'm relatively new to both PHP and MySQL, so perhaps this is obvious to someone else. I have a phpbb forum and a website using PHP. I've created a sort of staff blog for the website, using the forum database. I just added a couple tables and everything meshes nicely. However, my visitors complain that it's difficult to tell who's updated their blog without reading all of them, so I wanted to create a dynamically changing list of all the bloggers, with the ones who have most recently updated their blogs on top. When I run the following query on my database, I get exactly the result I want

SELECT DISTINCT u.username FROM xphpbb_users u, blog_posts o WHERE u.user_id=o.author GROUP BY o.postnum DESC

This gets me the usernames of all my bloggers, without repeats, and orders them by the most recent blog post first, and the oldest last. However, when I try to use the PHP code of the blog.php page to make this list, the names don't return in the same order; they're completely wrong. The order is the same as if I had run the query

SELECT DISTINCT u.username FROM xphpbb_users u, blog_posts o WHERE u.user_id=o.author ORDER BY o.postnum DESC

Where it starts at postnum 1, notes the username, goes all the way through, and then orders the ones it's returned (let's say they correspond to postnums 1, 5, 8, 16, and 24) by the postnum. However, this result shows me the bloggers in the order of who most recently STARTED a blog (made a first post).

How is it that a query works right when I run it myself, but the PHP returns the wrong result? How do I go about getting the result I want? I've heard about creating temporary rows to artificially read from the bottom up, but that seems complicated. Of course, I could always use two queries, but it looks like I should be able to get it all done with just the one.

Any help is much appreciated.

Hi,