upload filename to database (many-to-many relationship)

I'm a newbie here and hope I'm not posting in the wrong forum!

I'm using Dreamweaver 8 and am trying to develop an insert record form to do the following:

#1: allow the user to upload a file to the server's folder (this is just for registered users) and have this filename recorded in a database table called 'images'.

#2: before the user uploads the file, they need to choose from a list box which category the file is to be associated with. The categories are titles of other web pages that have their own database tables. I do have a 'categories' database table that has a list of categories developed within it. Each web page needs to be able to display 2 or more images at a time (I guess that's problem #3).

I have already developed separate tables for my web page(s).

I've developed the 'images' table with the following criteria:

Table: images

image_id INT UNS AUTO PRI KEY

filename VARCHAR

caption VARCHAR

The 'categories' table:

Table: categories

cat_id INT UNS AUTO PRI KEY

category VARCHAR

Then there's my web page(s) table:

As an example:

Table 'sandf'

sandf_id INT UNS NOT NULL AUTO PRI KEY

content TEXT

I would like to know how to develop the upload to where it will record the filename, associate the web page(s) table with the filename so I can display the images from the server folder to my web page. Am I not doing something correctly?

I'm quite ignorant about developing PHP/MySQL but am enjoying learning how to develop a CMS.

Heather

• 2 weeks later...

I think you splitting your database in such an extensive manner. I think you could get rid of the pictures table, thats one.