Security

GreenP

I am a newbie to PHP. I read up and created my first script yesterday. It goes to a MYSQL server and runs a series of queries on multiple tables to create a field of keywords for a web application we run. It works great. However, the script includes the username and password to log into our database. What do I need to do to make this secure? It needs to be run a couple times per day. If I put persmissions at 400, 600 or 700, (as I have read some suggest) it will not run from a web browser. If I put it at 751 or 755 it will run, but I don't know if I am opening myself up for problems. If I keep it at say 400, 600 or 700, how do I run the script?

Muchas Thankfullness

I am a newbie to PHP. I read up and created my first script yesterday. It goes to a MYSQL server and runs a series of queries on multiple tables to create a field of keywords for a web application we run. It works great. However, the script includes the username and password to log into our database. What do I need to do to make this secure? It needs to be run a couple times per day. If I put persmissions at 400, 600 or 700, (as I have read some suggest) it will not run from a web browser. If I put it at 751 or 755 it will run, but I don't know if I am opening myself up for problems. If I keep it at say 400, 600 or 700, how do I run the script?

Muchas Thankfullness

A few things:

1. FORM VALIDATION.  It can't be bold enough.  If you're using a form to login, you absolutely need to verify that the info submitted into your form is legit.

2. Encryption.  At the very least, the password should be encrypted.  MySQL has several built-in encryption functions, including PASSWORD() and MD5().  Be sure that the stored passwords are encrypted in the database.