[SOLVED] multi-page search

kene

Hello,

I'm new to PHP and having trouble with a search function. Users start with a page where they pick criteria in a form to use in a search for real estate properties. Some of the criteria are in drop down lists and users can pick more than one item from the list.

When they click the submit button, the selections are passed as form values. The values from the drop down lists are currently handled on the results page with code like the following:

if($area){

$areas = implode("','",$_POST['area']);

if($areas != "ANY")

{

$area_clause = "AND Area IN('$areas')";

}

else

{

$area_clause = "AND Area = Area";

}

}

If the user didn't make any selection, the value from the drop down is "ANY". If they did make a selection, then a list of one or more items is created as $areas. The 'area_clause' is used in a mySQL query to return results.

This works fine on the first page of results, but in many cases there will be multiple pages of results returned and the page is configured to display only 10 rows at a time. The problem I'm having is figuring out how to get the criteria from the drop down lists passed to pages 2, 3, 4, etc. The results page is always the same page, just getting a different set of rows based on which page it is in the total number. So the value of $area needs to be passed multiple times as they navigate through pages. But the form value only exists the first time. If I just use something like the following, the drop down list for $area is only passed as "Array" to the next page, not the list:

<a href=\"$PHP_SELF?query=$query&page=$next_page&area=$area&limit=$limit&type_search=$type_search&price_search=$price_search\">next</a>