Simple PHP / MySQL security question

wpb

Hello,

I'm quite new to both PHP and MySQL, so forgive me if this is obvious...

If I have a PHP script in my public folder that contains code to open my MySQL database using my username and password, what's to stop everyone on the internet downloading that script and finding out the username and password for themselves? Is it never possible to download a PHP script from a server without the server first parsing the PHP and basically just serving up the resulting HTML?

Secondly, I have a website with a small MySQL database containing some data only part of which is intended for public viewing. I have a PHP script which queries the database by ID number, and returns some HTML about the results. Let's say that IDs 1 - 10 are for public viewing, and IDs 11-20 aren't. What's to stop someone writing a script that can query my database for IDs 11-20?

Sorry if it's not clear what I mean! Any help much appreciated.

Cheers,

WPB

Php is run server side and only the output is displayed. Therefore anything inbetween <?php and ?> is hidden. All that is displayed is the results. Therefore to get access to your php files the user will have to go through a ftp client. To do that they need user names and passwords

To query your database they will need all the user names and passwords to set up a connection. The only way to get that is from your or the host provider.

edit: i am new to php to but i think i am right. Please correct me if i am wrong

If your username and password are stored in variables within a .php file then they will not be viewable, even if the file is saved by a client, they only ever get the html output.

Having said that however, if your server ever fails parsing php, it may serve your pages as plain text.