Update Filed with data from another field

n00b-init

Hi

I am a serious noob, am reading all the oriellly stuff but after days of trying to figure out what to do, I am here asking for some help, took me 3 days to figure out how to create a table :) but good news I now have one.

ok here is my problem, I have a Table with 3 fields in them, I need to create a script or command that will do 2 things, create new fields based off one of the current fields, also it needs to monitor these new fields and take the value from one field and add it to another, and update itself when new data is entered.

example

Table = issues

Field 1 = ID

field 2 = issuenum

field 3 = time

field 4 = totaltime

ok issuenumb corresponds to an issue number/work order number, the time field and total time fields need to correlate to each issue number

so like if

issuenum = 23 then sql needs to create a field below that field named time and totaltime then when the field for time gets update with lets say

time = 4

totaltime needs to read the value of time = 4 and update itself to totaltime = 4

then if time field gets updated again with

time = 6

then totaltime needs to see that and update itself with totaltime = 10 since 4+6 = 10

then if a new issuenum gets created say

issuenum = 11

new fields need to be created automaticaly again under the field issuenum

so my original field is called

issuenum, every time a new value gets sent to that fiel

example, i guess this is called a hiearchal structure?

but it would look like thie

Issuenum

|__issuenum = 13

|          |__time = 4

|          |__totaltime = 4

|__issunum = 23

|          |__time = 9

|          |__totaltime = 9

|__issuenum = 19

|__time = 2

|__totaltime = 2

and so forth, and like i said if time in issuenum = 13 above gets changed from 4 to 6 then total updates itself with basic addition math to totaltime = 10

any help would be greatly appreciated, thank you

Marcus