[SOLVED] php msql query field name problem

jonaHill87

edit: the forum seems to be putting some quotes and semicolons in my code a lil strange. They are attached to the statements in my code I dont know why they look like that in here.

Hi all. Nice set of forums your got here. I was hoping maybe I could get some help on a php/mysql query I'm having. I'm trying to retrieve some field names and then put them into an html form as checkboxes. I'm echoing the field names fine but when I try to put them into the form it doesn't turn out right. I'm pretty sure the values are passing fine because it outputs the correct number of boxes for how many field names there are. But after the closing input tag, I'd like to echo the names as well but only echos the name of the function I'm using. I think I might have to use an array but I'm not sure, or maybe some other wierd thing in my code. I'm still pretty new to this stuff.

Here's my code with the form commented out just to show you that the field names are echoing properly.

<?php

$test = $_POST["data"];

//test is just the table name string from my earlier page which I incorporated into my query.

$query2 = "SELECT * FROM ".$test."";

$result3 = mysql_query($query2);

$fields = mysql_num_fields($result3);

for ($i = 0; $i < $fields; $i++) {

echo mysql_field_name($result3, $i)."<br>";

//echo "<form method='post' action='page3.php'>";

//echo "<input type='checkbox' value='mysql_field_name($result3, $i)' name='fieldNames'>mysql_field_name($result3, $i)<br>";

//echo "<input type='submit' value='submit' name='submit'><br>";

//echo "</form>";

}

?>

Hey guys sorry I didnt post my code right and was trying to edit but the forum wouldnt let me.

Here's the correct code.

<?php

$test = $_POST["data"];

//test is just the table name string from my earlier page which I incorporated into my query.

$query2 = "SELECT * FROM ".$test."";

$result3 = mysql_query($query2);

$fields = mysql_num_fields($result3);