grep-ing with a php script

PhilTR

I'm trying to grep a string out of a *.php file using a php script storing the string in a variable.  Is this even possible? If so what would the command look like?

I'm trying to pull the substring (everything between parenthesis):

"/var/www/html/$newAccountNo", 0775

from the string:

$result_dir=mkdir("/var/www/html/$newAccountNo ", 0775);

located (naturally) in 'plmNewAcctData.php'.

I can grep it with:

'grep -i '$result_dir=*' plmNewAcctData.php'.

I'm doing this as a learning exercise and of course I'm a bit new at this so if it's possible please show me what the code would looks like using the info I provided. Hopefully I have provided enough info. Thanks for your help. phil

guru, thanks for the code snippit. Laying in bed I realized I didn't completely make myself clear. I edited my original post after your reply. I needed to make clear that I wanted to store the string in a variable. I should have much fun playing with your code. The string looks like it's stored in '$matches' ? Thanks. phil

Not having much luck. I think I found a typo in Guru's example tho. The first part of the string I want to pull from is, '$result_dir=mkdir...' and not '$result=mkdir...'. (Actually all I want to pull is the text between the ()s, including the leading double quote (for now the substring is unique). I'll store the var $matches in another var called '$dir_path'  and call '$dir_path' from within 'plmNewAcctData.php'(using 'return $matches')).

So, I edited the example and tried again, w/o success.

I tried another uniquie comment string from same file thinking that simpler is better.

<code>if (preg_match('/\bcheck for missing field entrys\b/i', file_get_contents(plmNewAcctData.php), $matches)) {

print_r($matches); } </code>

Nada. I even tossed in:

<code> $handle = fopen("/var/www/html/plm/plmNewAcctData.php", "r"); </code>

to see if that made 'plmNewAcctData.php' open and readable.