YouTube style comment replies

helpmeplease2

I already have an ajax commenting system, but I want to add the feature to allow users to reply to comments. Is there someone who knows how to do this?

I am a beginner at PHP so I'm pretty sure I can't do this myself.

If you can add the ability to reply to comments like on YouTube then you can have a link on my website for free. (site: www.gameanyone.com)

Email me if you want to help you: derek_dude12@yahoo.com

what you have to do is make a new column in your comment table that contains the id of the parent comment. So, if it was a comment that was new the parent id would be null. but, if the comment was a reply then the parent id would be the id of the comment that was being replied to. this way you can also have replies to replies. Also, this question might be better off in a different section.

If you want Youtube style then lets say this is your comment table:

| Comment Title: this is the comment title                                                                 

| message: this is the comment

|

|

|___________________________________________

|Reply number 1:

|sdfjdkfjskdfjskdjfkjdkfjfd

|_________________________________________-

You count all the number of quotes or replies to comments belong to that comment id, if its more than 0 then echo the tr or td or whatever, else it should be

| Comment Title: this is the comment title                                                                 

| message: this is the comment

|

|

|___________________________________________

One thing I'm quite interested in is how do you handle unlimited nesting?  As in, what happens if someone replied to a comment, which was a reply to another comment, which again was a reply to another comment etc.  Is there a way of finding out the nesting structure?  And to be able to handle an infinite number this way - much like how a directory tree works.

PHP Monkey