Getting number of items in a table column

lionheart8

Hi

I am quite new to Mysql as my question probably shows.

I need some help to get the number of contents in a column s1t1 in table "itmc_anmeldungen".

My attempt:

---------------------

$abfrage = "SELECT id,vorname,nachname,strasse,plz,ort,tel,email,firma,s1t1,s1t2,s1t3,s2t1,s2t2,s2t3,signupdate,user_ip,activated,lastlogin FROM itmc_anmeldungen ORDER BY id";

$result = mysql_query($abfrage) or die(mysql_error());

$totalsum = mysql_num_rows($result);

$pix = mysql_num_fields($result);

if($totalsum)

{

echo "There are <b>$totalsum</b> results in the database<P>";

echo $pix."<p>";

}

This i know returns the number of rows in a table.

---------------------------

$ergebnis = mysql_query('SELECT * FROM itmc_anmeldungen WHERE s1t1 != ""');

(I wanted the s1t1 fields that are not empty - this did not work)

$rex = mysql_num_fields($ergebnis);

if (!$rex)

{

die('Could not query:' . mysql_error());

}

else

{

echo "<p> There are <h4>$rex</h4> results in db.";

}

----------------------------

In the 2 cases, the number of results returned is the same, which is actually the total number of rows.

I however want to get the total number of items in each column with the second function, like s1t1 OR any other like "firma".

What function(s) do I use to do so?

Is there any function I can use to get the number of items in each individual column & I can select which to print, ie like those in the whole table itmc_anmeldungen?

Please note I'm a MySQL Newbie, so be clear & if possible use the examples above to answer my question. (I did not find any online tutorial addressing my question fast enough. I urgently need a solution)

Thanks & regards.

Doing:

SELECT * FROM itmc_anmeldungen WHERE s1t1 > ""      or  ... WHERE LENGTH(s1t1) > 0

and using mysql_num_rows() will return the actual rows and how many there are.

This: