Novice Help With CSS Style Switcher

martcol

I am very new to this.

I have been using A List Apart for the code for a style swithcher on this page.

It doesn't work and I have been through it again and again and can't seem to spot any errors.  There isn't much code.  In the Head I have this:

<link href="stylemain.css" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" media="all"/>
	<link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" media="screen" title="User Defined Style" href="<?php echo (!$sitestyle)?'stylemain':$sitestyle ?>.css" />	
<link rel="alternate stylesheet" type="text/css" media="screen" title="Fire Engine Red" href="./style1.css" />
<link rel="alternate stylesheet" type="text/css" media="screen"  title="Grape" href="./style2.css" />
<link rel="alternate stylesheet" type="text/css" media="screen"  title="Scary" href="./style3.css" />		

Then a switcher.php file with this in it:

<?php
setcookie ('sitestyle', $set, time()+31536000,
'/', 'www.imagesandwords.org.uk', '0');
header("Location: $HTTP_REFERER");
?>

And in the body there's this:

<ul>
	<li id="red"><a href="switcher.php?set=style1">1</a></li>
	<li id="green"><a href="switcher.php?set=style2">2</a></li>
	<li id="blue"><a href="switcher.php?set=style3">3</a></li>
</ul>

I would like to learn PHP and this is my first exercise in it. I know a bit of HTML & CSS but programming to me means planning what to watch on the telly!

Even a pointer as to how to find out why it doesn't work for me would be great.

Thanks

Martin

make sure the page is set as .php or that you have your server set to parse .html pages as php etc. When I view source on your page, I can see the php code. That means it is not being processed.

That should be the problem

Thank you for your help.  I've tried changing the file extension to .php but it still doesn't work.  I have raked through the code symbol by symbol but, still no luck.