need help combining

publisacman

Hi , im completely new to php and mysql. I have 2 websites running on the same server and im just wondering if there is a way that when someone logs into one of the websites that it will automatically log them in the other website as well so that they don't have to log in again. Maybe if you can point to some good beginner reading material or something that would be great. 

Unless they're using the same domain name, you'll have to set up a sort of information-sharing scheme where one website can tell the other about a user. Basically,

1. User is on website A

2. You/the user decides to visit website B and they need to be logged in

3. Website A "calls" website B (for example, with a POST request) and passes along information about the user

4. Website B stores that information somewhere then returns (a) whether the user was accepted, and if so (b) a special, unique, one-time URL

5. Website A redirects the user to that URL

6. Website B now uses that special URL to look up the information it stored earlier and log the user in

And what prevents me from using that information-sharing system to fetch a one-time URL for an arbitrary user and take over their account?

publisacman, I strongly recommend you refrain from the idea, especially when you're completely new to PHP and MySQL. Many developers can't even implement a single log-in system. The chances of getting two systems with a complex single-sign on protocol right are close to zero. What will probably happen is that you break the authentication mechanism of both sites and end up with no security at all.

In fact, if your websites are so closely coupled that you feel the need to sync the user accounts, you should think about having one website with a single authentication system and different subdomains.

Edited by Jacques1