SEO questions

Stefany93

Howdy,

I am new to SEO. Could you please help me? banghead.gif

1. I like to post programming tutorials to both my website & various programming forums. Is that going to screw up my website's ranking in Google?

2. My editor of my history website who sometimes posts essays there also posts them in some history forums. Is that bad for SEO?

3. I made a Facebook page for my history website. It says there "Promote your page" basically you pay $5 for around 100 likes. Has anyone tried that? Does it work? Because $5 seems like little money for additional 100 likes which will increase the traffic considerably.

Thank you so much for the help!

Search engines like original unique content and will base the reliability of the source content off that.

If you were to copy content from another site it would be best to pass a canonical link to the other site as to not lower your score.

<link rel="canonical" href="http://originalsite.com/copied-content"/>

This should help your site not get penalized as having duplicate content or being a content aggregator.

In that same respect it's not helping your site either as the link to your article gets passed on to the original site.

Value as to your visitors is a bit different, if that's why they come to your site then have to weigh your options which benefits you more.

As for the facebook and likes, I've seen people pay for lesser methods to try and gain traffic to their sites, try it out, won't hurt.

• Like 1

Search engines like original unique content and will base the reliability of the source content off that.

If you were to copy content from another site it would be best to pass a canonical link to the other site as to not lower your score.

<link rel="canonical" href="http://originalsite.com/copied-content"/>

This should help your site not get penalized as having duplicate content or being a content aggregator.