[SOLVED] Apostrophe problem in simple php/MySQL CMS scripts.

iainlang

Hello.

[ BTW - After reading "Have you been helped here?" I've been looking for a "Donate" button but I can't find one that doesn't just take me back to the Home page. Can anyone point me to the right URL? ]

Now...

I wrote my own small, very simple, naive, CMS scripts to help small charities run their own database-driven website without further aid from anyone outside their organisaton.  I have about thirty now and all has been working well for about four years but one theatre Trust wants a  What's On  section (note the apostrophe - oddly enough, the first time any of "my" little charities thought to use one) and it seems that this forbids the creation of Sub-sections within any Section whose title contains an apostrophe.

I've listed my scripts below; can anyone tell me what the solution might be to the apostrophe problem, please?  I'm sort'v self-taught and am probably missing something stupid.

Thanx.

Iain.

include("php-lib/connect_inc.php");

$section_name=trim (strtolower($section_name));

$section_text=nl2br($section_text);

$TableName="sections";

$Query="INSERT INTO $TableName (section_id, section_name,

section_vis_name, section_heading, section_text, image_filename, title_text) VALUES ('$section_id', '$section_name', '$section_vis_name', '$section_heading', '$section_text', '$file_name', '$title_text')";

$Result=mysql_db_query ($DBName, $Query, $Link);

include("sec_add.php");

$TableName="images_sub_sections";

$TableName="sections";

$Query="SELECT section_name, section_vis_name FROM $TableName WHERE section_id='$section_id' ";

while ($Row=mysql_fetch_array ($Result))

{

$section_name=$Row[section_name];

$section_vis_name=$Row[section_vis_name];

}

$sub_section_name=trim(strtolower($sub_section_name));

$sub_section_text=nl2br($sub_section_text);

$TableName="sub_sections";