Newbie need some help...

MysticJoe101

Folks,

I'm not exactly sure what is the best way to accomplish this task.

I've somehow inherited an older site that I've been updating with CS3.  I have a page that I want all first time visitors to my site to view.  On subsequent visits, I want everyone to go to my main page. What is the best way to accomplish this?  Please "be gentle, this is my first time doing this", so any extra code is appreciated.

After I have that completed...

I want all users to go to my main page, even if they've bookmarked something else.  How can I accomplish that without effecting my spry menu (included with CS3)?

Thanks

There's no real way to make sure only first time visitors view a certain page because IP addresses can change constantly.  I think AOL customers use a different IP on each request.  And the "go back to a main page even if they've bookmarked something else" is so ridiculously inconvenient that it's not even funny.  Why would you want to do that?

As a solution to the first issue:

<?PHP

//Define Variables
$IP= $_SERVER['REMOTE_ADDR'];

//Substr Replace Variables
$IP2= substr_replace($IP, "", 6);

//Find Rows
$Result1= mysql_query("SELECT * FROM Views WHERE IP LIKE '$IP2%'");
$Rows1= mysql_fetch_array($Result1);

//If Rows Are Empty
if(empty($Rows1))
{
//Insert View Data
mysql_query("INSERT INTO Views (IP)
VALUES ('$IP')");

//Redirect User
header("location: intropage.php");
}

//If Rows Are Not Empty
else
{
//Redirect User
header("location: mainpage.php");
}

?>

You could do something like that...

Also, the table 'Views' would only have one field: IP.

Either.

I thought I could check if a cookie exists then not a first time visitor and re-direct to main page, but I don't know.  And I'm not sure how to code for that either.

However that's why I'm here looking to the more experienced folks for answers/solutions/suggestions.