[SOLVED] cookies to stay logged in

aebstract

First of all, this is my first time doing anything with cookies, though it seems to be easy enough. Problem is, they aren't doing what they should. I log a user in with a session and keep them on with that. What I want to do is, if they choose to stay logged in, set their session id with a cookie. When they come back, if the session id isn't set, set it with that cookie. I've read that when you close a browser it will clear/reset cookies but if you set an expiration time then it will be saved, so I have this:

login page

if(mysql_num_rows($result) == 0)
    {
      $error .= "The pasword you entered did not match the plant location you chose.";
    }
    else
    {
      $worked = mysql_fetch_array($result);
      $_SESSION["id"] = $worked['plant'];
$uid=$worked['user_id'];
$lastlogin= date("m/d/Y g:i A");

mysql_query("UPDATE users SET lastlogin='$lastlogin' WHERE user_id=$uid LIMIT 1") or DIE(mysql_error());

$postsessid = $worked['plant'];
setcookie ('savedid', '$postsessid', time()+5256000);

header("Location: /accounthome/");
      exit;
    }

and the index where it reads this

if (!isset($_SESSION[id])) {
if (isset($_COOKIE['savedid'])) {

$_SESSION["id"] = $_COOKIE['savedid'];

}
}

There is a good chance the session attached to that ID no longer exists on the server.

If you want to create a remember me function, the best thing to do is to store the user's ID or username in a cookie along with a unique token.  You store this same unique token in the user's row in the users table.

When a guest visits your site, you check for the username and token in the cookie and see if they match in the database as well.  If they do, you can auto-login that user.

Do not store the user's password or an easily guessed value in the cookie as clever people will figure it out.  You want the token to be unique and constantly changing so the chances of someone guessing the proper token for a username is slim to none.