Need some critiques on two sites!

nubby

Okay I am still new to PHP and I am still trying to get better at the design part of sites. That is probably my main weakness right now.  ::)

Anyways I want two sites below strongly critiqued.

First site in the line up is very basic, but sort of fun creating. I know the site is very simple and doesn't have much content, since there really isn't much more I could add. This site sends text messages to any US/Canada phone number for free.

http://FreeUnlimitedTexts.com/

-------------------------------------

Next, this is a torrent search engine. This was a little bit harder to create, but still fun. It basically is an RSS of another more popular torrent search engine, but was hard to code.

As for this site, I know it needs a more friendly look or something to liven it up, but I am not sure what it needs.

http://TorrentSafari.com/

Sorry I do not have a more thorough write up, but I am tired and wasn't sure what else is needed. Just please give me opinions.

I am not good at design either, but I don't think the "FreeUnlimitedTexts" page background fits in too well.  The background is distracting, and it keeps drawing my attention.  For this kind of site I would stay away from the darker colors, but this is just my opinion.  The logo could be a bit more "upgraded".  For the lack of content it does have some good stuff though.

TorrentSafari.com

------------------------

Not much to say for this site because it is so simple.

I am not good at design either, but I don't think the "FreeUnlimitedTexts" page background fits in too well.  The background is distracting, and it keeps drawing my attention.  For this kind of site I would stay away from the darker colors, but this is just my opinion.  The logo could be a bit more "upgraded".  For the lack of content it does have some good stuff though.