How do I apply for a job in a distant company

ryy705

Hello,

This might be a foolish question for people who are experienced.  But I am a noob.

Hypothetically speaking, if I were to start looking for a job and I send my resume to a company thats 3000 miles away, would they even call me?  I am willing to move anywhere but how will companies interview me?  Am I expected to fly all over the country every time I get call for an iterview?  How does this work?  Thanks.

Hello,

This might be a foolish question for people who are experienced.  But I am a noob.

Hypothetically speaking, if I were to start looking for a job and I send my resume to a company thats 3000 miles away, would they even call me?  I am willing to move anywhere but how will companies interview me?  Am I expected to fly all over the country every time I get call for an iterview?  How does this work?  Thanks.

standard procedure, as far as i know, is to give you a telephone interview to begin with.  if you're an extremely strong candidate and they really think you're the one, they'll likely fly you out for an in-person interview.  this heavily depends on the type of company, mind you - very small companies are likely to be more choosy and less capital-flushed.  on the other hand, big companies are often looking for someone so mundane that they will not consider outside applicants as it isn't worth the extra calibre of candidate they might reach.  so it could go both ways.

EDIT:  daniel beat me to it.

I don't mind a regular 9-5 job.  And I don't mind moving to a different part of the country. So my question is: What happens when I apply for a job at a company that is a thousand mile away?  Do companies hold interviews over the phone?  Do I have to fly there the interview?  Or they wouldn't bother with me since I live faraway?  Has anyone here applied to for a full time job that is many miles away?