[SOLVED] Simple Secure PHP Login Script

Akenatehm

Hey Guys,

I need help with creating a Secure PHP Login Script. I need it to get the login details from a MySQL table and then on login it saves a script after validating the form. I am very new to PHP and I have written all that I know how to do below.

<?PHP 

$connect = mysql_connect ('localhost','username','password')

$db = mysql_select_database ('database_name')

That is the basics that I understand. I know how to insert data to the tables using MySQL but have no previous experience in validating the table information against the inputted data.

Help would be greatly appreciated!

Woah, sounds like you are pretty new to this, so first things first:

<?php

$connect = mysql_connect ('localhost','username','password'); //Semi colons are VERY important.
$db = mysql_select_database ('database_name');

?>

Now, let's get going:

<?php

/*Variables that are passed through the forum, assuming your forum has a password and username field.*/
$username = $_POST['username'];
$password = md5($_POST['pass']);

/*Everything related to database work.*/
mysql_connect ('localhost','username','password');
mysql_select_database ('database_name');

$query = "SELECT * FROM tablename WHERE username = '$username' AND password = '$password'"; //Assuming you have your 'tablename', and a 'username' and 'password' fields on your table.
$result = mysql_query($query); //Throws the query and stores the value in the $result variable.
$num = mysql_num_rows($result); //Now num has a value. If your site does NOT allow more than one unique username, the value on this variable will be either 1 or 0.

/*Time to test.*/

if($num == 1){ //If there is a username with that password in the database:

#Loggin successful!

} else { //If there is not a username with that password:

#Error loggin in!

}
?>

Hope that helps. And apologizes if it isn't what you wanted.

Woah, sounds like you are pretty new to this, so first things first:

<?php