Advanced Sessions Processing

OldManRiver

All,

I have this site, that does not want to trap and keep session & class vars.

The back-end (SSH & FTP) are on a short time-out, so logging in is frequent, I wonder if the ISP also set the front-end the same, maybe explaining my problem, but not sure.

A friend suggested I use MySQL to trap the class and session vars.  He uses that method due to load balancing.  Not sure if this fixes it, if front-end logout is forced.

I have no experience doing such a thing, so am wondering where I can find good examples and HOWTOs.  Did search, but didn't get much.  Suppose I'm using the wrong key words.

A little help here would be appreciated.

Thanks!

OMR

All,

Working here and with IRC #php, so will try to answer all the Q's and add some more info I found:

Q1:

Am I on a shared web server?
No 1.) Dev box is SO (Stand-alone) WAMP DT box, 2.) Test box is SO Ubuntu Server 7.10, 3.) Prod box is RHE4. All dedicated boxes housed at site warehouse.

Q2:

Do sessions work at all or do they work but are ending after a short time?
Sessions work for about 15-30 minutes, but then go out.

Q3:

What exactly are the symptoms?
Even though sessions are working vars are not holding or passing from page to page. Doing "var_dump" on dev box show all vars and values including the basket, but not passing to the "basket.php" file. On Test box the "var_dump" shows only a minimal set of vars and all shopping cart basket vars are empty.

I've saved the screens, in both the states (toggling my checkbox) and from both the DT dev box and remote test box, to help you see my problem. First file has screens. Second file has the images.

Q4:

What are the settings for GC frequency in php.ini?
Changed order as follows to sync settings on Dev DT and Test box.
; variables_order = "EGPCS"
variables_order = "GPCS"

Found no frequency setting for these but found

max_execution_time = 30

so assume sessions blow after 30 minutes, which is about when all is lost.