[SOLVED] normalization

ngreenwood6

I am new to php and mysql and had a few questions for someone that is willing to help.  I have been looking into the normalization of a database. Say I had a structure like this:

DB: Normal
Table: Users
  Row: Id
  Row: Username
  Row: Password
Table: Work
  Row: Request
  Row: User_id

1.) Wouldn't that be normalizing as I am using the user_id as the id from the users table?

2.) If I wanted it to show the username instead of the user_id when I display it how would I do it?

I may have some more questions but thanks in advance for any help.

first, Row is deceiving, as it is actually a column (or field).

In your work table, will any given user EVER have more then the Work entry?

to JOIN the tables, it would be:

SELECT * FROM Work w LEFT JOIN Users u ON w.User_id = u.Id

Database normalization is a technique to reduce the amount of duplicate data in a database.  Making a relational database (a database structure) is an end result of normalizing a database.  In other words, one way to normalize a database is to make a relational database.  That is pretty much what you did there. You identified that users can have more than one request, so instead of repeating the same user info in a single table over and over again, where only the request changes, you made two different tables, with a common user id link. 

As rhodesa pointed out, you can use various JOIN queries to return linked table data.  His query will pretty much just dump all info out from both tables.  If you are just wanting to show username:request, it would look something like this:

select Username, Request from Users, Work, where Users.Id = Work.User_id

Thank you crayon that helped. I think you misunderstood the least question though. I know how to select the data to be displayed but I want to know how to display it on the page.

Say i have this query

SELECT * FROM Work w LEFT JOIN Users u ON w.User_id = u.Id

I want to display the username. would this work: