[SOLVED] PHP working in 4.4.8 but not 5.2.5

jsciarrino

A client moved his host acct. New host runs php 5.2.5, old host was 4.4.8. The following code worked on the old host but not on the new one. I'm a php novice, really trenched down and figured this out when I first worked with the client to get this working but am in a pinch here to get them back up asap. Trying to figure this out, hope someone could help. For all I know it could be a simple fix, hope so :) Thanks in advance for any help/explanation. I don't want to just have somebody debug for me, if somebody sees the problem and could take the time to explain I would appreciate that even more.

<?php $page_title="attorney"; include('header.php'); ?>

<? 
if ( $bio == "attorney 1 name" ) { 
$MyArray = array( "Attorney 1", "email: <a href=\"mailto:attorney1@attorney.com\">attorney1@attorney.com</a>","Attorney 1 description, hooray.");

} else if ( $bio == "attorney 2 name" ) { 
$MyArray = array( "Attorney 2", "email: <a href=\"mailto:attorney2@attorney.com\">attorney2@attorney.com</a>","Attorney 2 description, hooray.");

}
?>

<h2 id="title"><?echo $MyArray[0]?></h2>

<p class="cinfo"><?echo $MyArray[1]?></p>
	<p class="cinfo">
	phone: 1234567<br>
	fax: 1234567
	</p>

<p><?echo $MyArray[2]?> </p>

<? include("footer.php") ?>

Would help if you explained what doesn't actually work.

One thing that happens on a update is the php.ini file is set to default.  Are short tags enabled?  If not, change your <? to <?PHP

If this is all your code, where do you set your variables?  $bio isn't defined.

Short tags could be disabled (if that is possible)

<?php
   $MyArray = array( "Attorney 1", "email: <a href=\"mailto:attorney1@attorney.com\">attorney1@attorney.com</a>","Attorney 1 description, hooray.");

$MyArray = array( "Attorney 2", "email: <a href=\"mailto:attorney2@attorney.com\">attorney2@attorney.com</a>","Attorney 2 description, hooray.");

}
?>

<h2 id="title"><?php echo $MyArray[0];?></h2>