PHP Problem!!!

jamesb859

Hey guys, I am brand new to the forum, please help if you can. I am new to PHP. I got access from my church to edit the youth section of the website. I noticed all the files are in .php format. I have Adobe Design Premium CS4. I downloaded MySQL and have to most recent versions of Apache and PHP on my new MacBook Pro. I went through a tutorial on Lynda.com to install everything and it all went very smooth....but then lynda.com told me download TextMate to test my php. I opened a file and typed the <?php phpinfo ?> into textmate and saved it as a .php file. Then I opened my browser and put in the correct address to view the chart that it is supposed to pull up. All it shows is the code! Then I pull up a page from the church website in dreamweaver CS4 but when I click liveview it just shows up blank. I have no idea what the problem is. Can anyone help?

Nah, you shouldn't have to.  I typically have the best luck installing Apache, then PHP.  Check your httpd.conf and make sure it has something like...

#BEGIN PHP INSTALLER EDITS - REMOVE ONLY ON UNINSTALL
PHPIniDir "C:/Program Files/PHP/"
LoadModule php5_module "C:/Program Files/PHP/php5apache2_2.dll"
#END PHP INSTALLER EDITS - REMOVE ONLY ON UNINSTALL

Also make sure that PHP and Apache are both trying to read the right directories.  The fact that you're getting a response is a good sign so just check those last few things.

http://www.mamp.info/

Much easier than trying to install PHP/Apache on your own for development/testing reasons =)

Yeah the all-in-one solutions are great, I use them whenever I have the chance.  Getting Apache and PHP to work on a new test environment can be infuriating.

I figured out how to set them both up back in the day because PHPTraid sucked. Then once this LAMP and WAMP came out it was always download/install from that package. Soo much less of a headache.