Problem with $_SESSION

bnt

??? I just started having a problem with $_SESSION.  I start each script with <?php session_start(); ?> as the top line.

I use the standard $_SESSION['abc']=123 format.  Everything has been working perfect ... until just recently.  Now when I move from one script to another, the information stored in ALL SESSION VARIABLES disappears!!!  I am running PHP ver 5.1.6.

ANY HELP WOULD BE GREATLY APPRECIATED!!!  I am somewhat new to PHP and have no idea how to proceed...

It is not limited to a single script... ALL of my scripts are having the same issues with the SESSION variables disappearing.

I had a similair problem before...

Firstly have you turned on error reporting for php in the .ini file?

Second have you changed anything since it stopped working? if so what?

Have you re-installed php at all?

This was my problem I did a manual install of it and didnt point the directory for storing sessions in the .ini file. So check the path for sessions in your .ini file.

Make sure you have no white space before <?php and after ?>, and between <?php session_start();

I looked at my phpinfo and cannot see where or how the path is set for sessions in php.ini.  Can you tell me what directives I should be looking for?

I am using a shared hosting server so I cannot re-install PHP

I have not changed anything in the php.ini file that could make it stop working.  I set safe mode to off but that should have no effect.

My phpinfo does NOT contain any directives containing the word SESSION much less session_save_path.  Should this be in there?  Where should the save path be set to (if it was there)?

I started trying to write a cookie and then read it.  That does not work either!  In fact, after using setcookie("abc",123) I should be able to view the cookie fin the browser... lot's of cookies but not this one!

Something very weird is going on.  What course of action should I take??

Your setcookie is wrong.