regex code for grabbing info from link

thewired

I have a site I am scraping source from and want to grab the info that says "WANT". The code looks like this, with the TD on a seperate line. Can I get help making a regex code for this? I am a regex noob  :P

The code looks like this, WANT and the random.com's will be different everytime.

<td class="file">

<a href="random.com" title="random.com">WANT</a>

Try

<?php
$stringToSearch = "<a href=\"lalala.com\" title=\"lalala.com\">Go Here</a>";
preg_match("/\<a href\=\"(.*?)\" title\=\"(.*?)\"\>(.*?)\<\/a\>/i", $stingToSearch, $matches);

print_r($matches);
?>

Simple code, really. $matches[0] will be the first pattern, $matches[1] will be the second and so on.

Thanks for the help guys. I tried DJTims and Cranyon's but your new code didn't work DJTim. So I'm using Crayon's.

Can someone explain to me what the difference is between ([^"]*) and (.*?) ? Also it seems to work as is but does it need the backslashes like DJTim's code?

backslashes are used to escape things.  For instance, if you have this:

$string = "some "random" thing";

you are going to get a parse error, because php will think the 2nd quote is the end of the string.  In order to tell php that no, that's not the end of the string, you escape it like this:

$string = "some \"random\" thing";

That is the general principle of the backslash.  Within a regex pattern, there are several things that need to be escaped.  For one thing, quotes you may be trying to match within the pattern, just like I mentioned above.  I don't have the quotes escaped in the pattern I gave, because I used single quotes around the pattern.  Since I used single quotes, the double quotes don't need to be escaped, because php doesn't match single quotes to double quotes like that.  Now, if there was a single quote in the pattern, I would have had to escape it, since I used single quotes around the pattern.