[SOLVED] Please help, will only take a second!

WolfRage

I know a weird request, but please help. Hi I am trying to help myself but my workcenter is making that difficult. There is a link in this forum post ( http://www.phpfreaks.com/forums/index.php/topic,229038.0.html ) that I want to see but my workcenter has blocked the site because it is uncatagorized. Can some one copy and past the blog back to the forum for me?

Thank you!

* Subscribe RSS Feed

code.openark.org

Blog by Shlomi Noach

* Home

* About

* Shlomi Noach

* יעוץ

Search

o

About me

o Name: Shlomi Noach

I am a DBA, consultant and an authorized MySQL instructor. A developer (mainly C/C++, Java, Web) and code architect.

I provide MySQL consulting services in Israel and world wide, and am available for hire.

Recent Posts

o LOCK TABLES in MyISAM is NOT a poor man’s tranactions substitute

o Tales of the Trade #1: A day in the life of a MySQL instructor

o MySQL User Group Meetings in Israel

o Blocking user accounts

o Announcing openark kit

Archives

o March 2009

o February 2009

o January 2009

o December 2008

o November 2008

o October 2008

o June 2008

Blogroll

o openark forge

o Planet MySQL

o יעוץ MySQL

Categories

o MySQL (RSS) (29)

Meta

o RSS 2.0 Feed

o Atom Feed

o Comments RSS Feed

o Log in

o Valid XHTML

Tag Cloud

o Analysis Backup Configuration Data Types Event Scheduler Execution plan Humor Indexing INFORMATION_SCHEMA InnoDB Installation Linux memcached MyISAM mysqldump Normalization openark kit python Query Cache Replication Schema Security SQL sql_mode Syntax Triggers User Group

Dec

MySQL’s character sets and collations demystified

MySQL’s character sets and collations are often considered as a mystery, and many users either completely disregard them and keep with the defaults, or set everything to UTF8.

This post will attempt to shed some light on the mystery, and provide with some best practices for use with text columns with regard to character sets.