cookie database?

aitchsonpeter

I want to create a database which will record login cookies to a logged in user. Maybe even a record cookie button that will record the cookies open in a session and set them to open every session. I am very new to this but am learning quickly. Any help is appreciated but please treat me like a child. A slow one at that. The kid who eats glue. Remember him. Yea that one.

Thanks

I think I might be misunderstanding here, (or perhaps you're not sure what cookies are for). But you want to store cookies in your database.

Why? And which cookies?

Cookies are to be used to store information on the client's machine, which can then be read by your PHP scripts when they access your site.

I want to be able to load the same cookie on another machine from a remote location.

i.e. computer 1 log into webmail and cookie records log in info and posts to sql database

computer 2 log into sql data base and go to webmail and cookie logs in to webmail.

Log into database at work/cafe/school and all my cookies from home get loaded into the session file. 

Ya dig?

In both instances (1) and (2) that you posted you require the user to log in ( via a web interface i'm guessing ). So where's the problem? Assuming you storing some information (dob, name?) on the user in your databases and the user is logged in (are you using sessions??) you don't need to store any cookies unless you need some information to persist on the client machine.

I'll just re-state; you're making the user login regardless of their location so you don't need to facilitate any magical cookie movements. Ya dig?

Perhaps if you explain better what it is these "cookies" are supposed to be doing then maybe we can shed some light on the real issue.

Perhaps I am not asking the right question.