Centering with fixed position

bassdog65

Ok, so I'm still fairly new to CSS, but I have a good grasp.

I have a page with a footer with a fixed position on the bottom of the window, and what I want is for something to sit on top of the footer, fixed as well, but to also be centered.  I cant figure out how to center something, and also have it fixed at the bottom.  It appears that these two things contradict.

I can post code examples if need be, but in all reality I just need a concept, because I am clearly missing what I am trying to accomplish.  If someone could point me in the right direction, it would be appreciated.

I'll model the css exactly the way your phrased your question:

<div id="footer">

<div class="main">

<div class="center_me">The thing you want centered</div>

... main footer contents

</div>

</div>

CSS:

#footer {

position: fixed;

width: __px;

margin: 0 auto;

bottom: 0;

}

#footer .main {

position: relative;

}

#footer .main center_me {

margin: -10px auto 0;

position: absolute;

width: ___px;

}

This is complicated as you see. First you make the footer fixed so it will "stick" to the bottom at all times. Next, you create a wrapper (.main) which uses position: relative; To center something on top of the footer just center it using margin: x auto; next we append position absolute to stick it out of the flow of the content and put it on top of your footer with a negative top margin - margin: -10px auto 0; (final margin declaration).

:D Hope it works. I haven't tried it out, but it should work.