[SOLVED] What should I do with my life?

AwptiK

I am basically at a crossroads in my life and I just wanted to see if anyone could set me off into a specific direction, or help me stage out part of my life.

Basically, i'm 17 years old, and 15 days from being 18. I got out of high school in May and i'm going to a USC satellite school for two years and then transferring to USC. That's the plan anyway.

I'll start from the beginning though. I've been into web design and coding since 6th grade, when my friend and I started playing with ProBoards forums. I've always leaned more towards coding than the actual design, being that i'm not creative with images and layouts and I guess because I love math.

I stayed interested in coding until about 10th grade, then got into other things for a while... now with college starting and all, my friend and I decided to make a portfolio site and get back into all of this, I guess to prepare for college and make some money as well. Right now, I would love doing this for a living and i've chosen to major in Computer Science at my college. There really wasn't much choice as far as stuff like this, so I hope that was a reasonable choice. (Others were Information Systems and Engineering)

Basically, over the years i've learned html, javascript, java, visual basic, c++ and php. I don't remember much javascript and never use java, vb or c++, but I plan on re-learning javascript soon.

I'm trying to get a few freelance jobs on various sites, except it's difficult to get a start without a decently sized portfolio AND php is so popular that everyone's trying to get the job I would like to get.

The crossroads that i'm at and the questions I have are..

Is this worth keeping into? I LOVE coding and I will always be interested in it, but I don't know if it's going to be able to support me. (Not that money is everything, but I consider myself to be very proficient at coding and not really above-average in anything else.)