Please review my Basic php OOP code

irkevin

Hi guys,

I'm new to OOP and i would be grateful if someone could review the simple and basic code i wrote and tell me if the technique is good or if i can better it.

What I did was a simple class file call database.php. It basically select some stuff from mysql.. and in my index.php, i've include the class file and spit out all the data.

Below are the codes

database.php

<?php

class database{

private $mysql;

function __construct(){
	$this->mysql = new mysqli('localhost','root','','data');
}

//a function to select our stuff	
function select_query($sql){
	if(($result = $this->mysql->query($sql)) != NULL){	
		while($row = $result->fetch_object()){
			$content[] = $row->title;	
			$content[] .= $row->content.'<br />';
		}
	}else{
		echo $this->mysql->error;
	}
	return $content;
}

function __destruct(){
	$this->mysql->close;
}

}
?>

index.php

<?php

require 'database.php';

$database = new database();

$myData = $database->select_query('select * from contents order by id asc');

?>

<?php foreach($myData as $data): ?>
	<span class="list"><?php echo $data;?></span><br />
<?php endforeach;?>

Any advice is welcome. Thanks!

A quick read and it seems fine to me :)

I only have one point I'd like to make, and it's nothing about your OOP; but you should really consider writing your MySQL functions in capital letters. Makes it so much easier to read.

The SQL you have there would be written like this:

SELECT * FROM contents ORDER BY id ASC

Hey good timing. lol.. I don't even know why I wrote it in lowercase. I always do it the uppercase way.. Anyways I have one more question.

Is it ok to echo out stuff directly from the class file?

Lets say i want to echo out the number of rows I have. I would I proceed with that?

I'd return it as a result instead, so that you just echo your function call where you need your numbers of rows.

I think this is the best practice for OOP too :)

Hmm i see.