Remotely running PHP admin programs on a LAMP server

mottwsc

I have a set of PHP 5 scripts that I wrote on a Windows dev server and am now setting up on a LAMP dev server.  I am not an expert on Linux, though, but I want to use it for security reasons.  The hosting site will be a LAMP server.  I'm trying to run administrative processes remotely and am having some trouble with accessing files.  Assume the following directory structure:

.../testsite.com/ contains an htpasswd file

.../testsite.com/docroot/ contains main scripts that everyone accesses

.../testsite.com/docroot/log/ contains text log files plus an htaccess file

.../testsite.com/docroot/includes/ contains php include files, Swiftmailer scripts plus an htaccess file

.../testsite.com/docroot/admin/ contains php admin files plus an htaccess file

The task is to tie in remotely to the hosting site and execute an administrative php script that opens, writes to and closes a log file in the /log subdirectory above as well as accesses the database and also sends emails.

Option 1 was to try and execute the php admin script by opening a browser, going to .../testsite.com/docroot/admin and executing the access file on the LAMP dev server.  I entered the username and password assocatied with htaccess and start to execute the script.  However, it fails because it can't open the file:

Warning: fopen(.../testsite.com/docroot/log/AdminTest-2009-09-07.txt) [function.fopen]: failed to open stream: Permission denied in .../testsite.com/docroot/admin/test2.php on line 29

Couldn't open the output file.