[SOLVED] Getting data from a database inside a function using a while loop

BandonRandon

Ok so this is a beginner stupid question but I'm new to functions. This is my first time to trying to get data from a database into a function. For some reason it's only getting the first result out of the database instead of looping though until the limit is reached.

Any Ideas?

function get_news_list($limit, $type, $author){
//get the limit of news
if(empty($limit)){
	$count_rows = mysql_query("SELECT * FROM `news_data`") or die(mysql_error());
	$limit = mysql_num_rows($count_rows);
}
//see if we should show news from all authors or just one
if(!empty($author)){
	$get_news_query = mysql_query("SELECT * FROM `news_data` WHERE `valid` = '1' AND author_id = '$author' ORDER BY `id` DESC LIMIT $limit") or die(mysql_error());
}
else{
	$get_news_query = mysql_query("SELECT * FROM `news_data` WHERE `valid` = '1' ORDER BY `id` DESC LIMIT $limit") or die(mysql_error());
}
        //loop though the news and get the news until the limit is reached
while($news_row = mysql_fetch_array($get_news_query)) {
	$news = ($news_row['text']);
	return $news;
}

}

You would simply have the function return an array of news records then loop through that. eg;

$newsitems = getNews();
foreach ($newsitems as $news) {
  echo "<div class='newsitem'>";
  echo "  <div class='title'>{$news['title']}</div>";
  echo "  <div class='content'>{$news['content']}</div>";
  echo "</div>";
}

So i still want to use a while loop inside the function to add all the data to an array?

Yes you will still need the other loop within the function to actually create the array. This is why I wouldn't really use functions as specific as the one you have there, it doesn't really do anything but add extra overhead. Not that loops are huge, but its something to think about.

Thanks,