BBCode-Stripping Regex Help for a PHP Novice

andy5000

Hello,

PHP Beginner here. Please go easy on me. My problem is as follows:

I want to display latest post from a forum on a webpage. I want to completely strip out [ quote], [ img], [ flash] and [ youtube] tags, including the text between the tags.

I then want to simply remove any other bbcode tags. For example, [ b], [ i], [ list], [ code], etc. Leaving the text between the tags in place.

I have tried searching the forum and web in general, but most bbcode regex questions seem to be to do with converting bbcode to html instead of simply stripping tags and contents - plus, the fact im a beginner and don't really know what im doing makes things a lot harder to understand.

I currently have the following (please excuse me for any awfully written code):

$messagebody = $row['post_text'];

// Remove [quote] [img] [flash] [youtube] code entirely (including contents)
// :-(

// Remove [b] [i] [u] [list] [*], etc (just tags)
// :-(

// Remove any nasty html tags
$messagebody = strip_tags($messagebody);

print '<p>'.$row['username'].' says: <a href="forum/viewtopic.php?t='.$row['post_id'].'">'.$messagebody.'</a></p>';

The commented out frowny faces represent my failure at knowing what to do.

I apologise if this gets asked all the time, I did try searching, honest!

Any help, or links to somewhere I can find an answer, would be much appreciated.

Thanks,

Andy

There is no real difference between converting bbcode tags to HTML and removing them. Either way you are attempting to match the tags and replace them with something. The main difference is that you will be replacing them with empty strings rather than HTML tags. To remove the tags such as , etc. You are probably better off simply using str_replace since you don't actually need to match a pattern.

// the tags to remove
$tags = array('[b]','[/b]', '[i]', '[/i]');

// remove them
$output = str_replace($tags, '', $input);