preg_match() [function.preg-match]: No ending delimiter '^' found

bikeria

Hello,

i'm a php newbie and i didn't understood how to use the preg_match correctly.

I tried to initiate a ecommerce tool and got a PHP 5.3 environment. I must migrate the ereg-family command to the preg_match statement. So I changed the code to:

if  (preg_match($mail_pat, $email, $components)) {

and i got the error: preg_match() [function.preg-match]: No ending delimiter '^' found in

so what must i do?

Thanks a lot.

I didn't understand what do you mean with pattern. This is my code:

function tep_validate_email($email) {

$valid_address = true;

$mail_pat = '^(.+)@(.+)$';

$valid_chars = "[^] \(\)<>@,;:\.\\\"\[]";

$atom = "$valid_chars+";

$quoted_user='(\"[^\"]*\")';

$word = "($atom|$quoted_user)";

$user_pat = "^$word(\.$word)*$";

$ip_domain_pat='^\[([0-9]{1,3})\.([0-9]{1,3})\.([0-9]{1,3})\.([0-9]{1,3})\]$';

$domain_pat = "^$atom(\.$atom)*$";

//if (eregi($mail_pat, $email, $components)) {

if (preg_match($mail_pat, $email, $components)) {

$user = $components[1];

$domain = $components[2];

// validate user

//if (eregi($user_pat, $user)) {

if (preg_match($user_pat, $user)) {

You need to add delimiters to all your patterns, your patterns are $mail_pat, $domain_pat, etc.. There are a lot of things you can use as delimiters, for the most part it's just down to use preference. Example:

$mail_pat = '^(.+)@(.+)$';

Should be:

$mail_pat = '~^(.+)@(.+)$~';

Notice the ~ at the start and the end of the pattern.

[ot]

@bikeria