iFrame Replacements

TGWSE_GY

Hiya Guys!

Ok here is the deal, I have a site that that I am having to use an iFrame to load content without the page reloading. However I am unable to pass url variables to the iFrame despite some people's examples on the web. So my question is what is the best alternative to an iFrame that will take url variables but will still update on say a click event on an image thumbnail, this would load the larger image in the designated area via a hyperlink attached to the thumb. I have to find something that mimics iFrames in look and feel or something that works better, but the most important part is it MUST be able to receive url variables.

:wtf:

Thanks Guys

Ok so through some more extensive research apparently it is "impossible" to replace the functionality, or pass a php variable, or url variables to an iFrame. As a fellow developer I feel that it is unacceptable for someone to say that it is "impossible", I think that is a copout and a sign of a lazy programmer. So my question is where should I look for passing variables to an iFrame as it is becoming very annoying seeing everyone post USELESS CODE for an example of an iFrame accepting variables in php via the URL.

Any Ideas Guys?

Thanks

T!  :confused: :confused: :confused: :confused: :confused::wtf:

Figured out a way despite being told that it is not possible or at least not easily to an iFrame.

Simply all you have to do is store the information that you want to be used by the page that loads in the iFrame in the SERVER $_SESSION variable and then test if(isset($_SESSION['myvar'])){$myvar=$_SESSION['myvar']; echo $myvar}else{echo "error";} on the page in the iFrame and viola you have the data that you wanted in your iFrame.

There you go for all who have been wondering how its done there it is.

Remember nothing is impossible in programming you just have to think your way around the problem! Impossible is not acceptable, but I dont know how to do it is more appropriate.